Little pieces of paper

I am a sucker for old recipes from the midwest. Especially those that are handwritten on little pieces of paper. I love the handwriting and the words that are used.

I am starting this blog by sharing with you one of my favorites. This recipe was a staple on the farm in Indiana where my husband grew up. Although I have seen many variations of it, this is by far the best. Enjoy and hand it down!

Korny Korn

  • 1 packet of Jiffy Cornbread mix
  • 2 eggs
  • ½ cup of oil
  • 1/3 cup of sugar
  • 1 cup of sour cream
  • 1 (14.5) oz can of whole kernel corn (drained!)
  • 1 (14.5) oz can of creamed corn
  •  Mix all the ingredients together. Pour into a greased 8×8 pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

About Comfort Cooking On Island Time

There are two things I can't resist; an old recipe handed down and passed around, and the beach. Growing up in the midwest I was introduced to true comfort food but always dreamed of a different landscape, and climate. Recently I acquired a 50 year old beach house. While stumbling after the great cooks of my past, I am focused on a future with cool waves and gently breezes......and watermelon rind pickles of course!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Little pieces of paper

  1. Brandice says:

    I love Korny Korn! I”m looking forward to the great recipes and fun stuff to be posted on this blog. BTW, I love the design;)

  2. This is something I’ve never heard of and am very, very excited to cook 🙂

  3. durangokirk says:

    I Heart Korny Korn!!!

Leave a Reply

