Lucky Enough

I have a sign at my beach house that reads, “If you’re lucky enough to be at the beach, you’re lucky enough.”  I will always remember when I got lucky enough.

One unassuming Sunday afternoon my husband innocently came home from a round of golf to find me with shoes and purse heading out the door.

“Come on, get in the car. We are driving down to the coast to look at a beach house. Yes there will be lunch and drinks involved.” My husband had no idea that we were even interested in buying a beach house. We hadn’t really discussed it…..yet.

He followed and didn’t say a word. Away we went. About an hour and a half later  and several turn arounds, we were sitting in front of  a house in need of, let’s say, serious love.

“It’s perfect!” I exclaimed as I jump out of the car and head up the stairs.

Tim sat in the car staring at me. It was obvious that no one lived there and I wanted to see what it was like to be on the deck of a house on stilts and feel that coastal breeze in my face. When I got to the top, I discovered that I could not only feel the breeze, but I could hear it AND see the water! True bliss. Well, I could see it through a small “window of opportunity,” smack dab between my neighbor’s houses and a huge telephone pole. Lucky! I grabbed an old plastic chair that was discarded in the corner and had a seat. Tim came up the stairs. He felt the breeze, he SAW the water. That was August and on Halloween I sat a pumpkin on the porch of my new beach house. Looking back on that day, I can’t believe I was so bold to even try to buy that house. I wasn’t scared. I was calm.

The good news is that it was 2008 and the economy hadn’t yet taken a nose dive. A mortgage on a vacation house in disrepair, being sold by a very motivated seller, right after a hurricane was not hard to come by! (That’s good news, right?) There have been sacrifices at times to keep this “second home”  but it feeds our souls and fuels our desire to become full time beach dwellers. There is nothing like sipping a cocktail on your patio, listening to the sea birds, and cooking burgers on the grill. Can’t wait to show you the pictures of the exterior transformation. And I will as soon as I find that dang cord for my camera.

About Comfort Cooking On Island Time

There are two things I can't resist; an old recipe handed down and passed around, and the beach. Growing up in the midwest I was introduced to true comfort food but always dreamed of a different landscape, and climate. Recently I acquired a 50 year old beach house. While stumbling after the great cooks of my past, I am focused on a future with cool waves and gently breezes......and watermelon rind pickles of course!
This entry was posted in Beach Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lucky Enough

  1. durangokirk says:

    Lucky, indeed! Not only in finding a beach house at a sound economic time, but also in having a husband who would go along for the ride…no questions asked. I like your writing style — easy going and fun to read. I look forward to the images finding the lost cord will produce. Beach Houses Are Cool!!!

  2. Pingback: It’s what’s on the outside « Hand-Me-Downs and Flip Flops

  3. Pingback: Window of Opportunity « Hand-Me-Downs and Flip Flops

Leave a Reply

