I “HEART” Marcia Adams

The BEST hand me down recipes of all time come from Marcia Adam’s cookbook called “Cooking from Quilt Country.” The recipes from the book come from the great Amish women’s kitchens. The book is beautiful and is actually interesting to just sit and read. When I lived in Iowa, I used to watch her cooking show on PBS. I soon acquired her cookbook. It is a must for midwestern comfort cooking. I recently learned that she died last year and she published a few other cookbooks. I am now on a mission to own them all. If you created the Hand Me Down Pantry, some of her best recipes are at hand. Thanks Marcia for showcasing the best of the midwest. If you know of her and have a favorite, let me know.

Her oven fried chicken is on page 66. I know this because I have made it 100 times. It is awesome at a picnic on the beach.

Oven Fried Chicken

About Comfort Cooking On Island Time

There are two things I can't resist; an old recipe handed down and passed around, and the beach. Growing up in the midwest I was introduced to true comfort food but always dreamed of a different landscape, and climate. Recently I acquired a 50 year old beach house. While stumbling after the great cooks of my past, I am focused on a future with cool waves and gently breezes......and watermelon rind pickles of course!
This entry was posted in Hand Me Down Pantry Recipes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I “HEART” Marcia Adams

  1. Nancy Brown says:

    I was lucky enough once to meet Marcia Adams at a Home & Garden show in Des Moines several years ago.I even have a signed copy of Cooking from Quilt country. I agree it is a beautiful book. I had not heard she died.

Leave a Reply

