Dress your naked tomatoes

I love a good tomato, especially one that has been plucked straight from the garden and is still warm from the sun. Unfortunately, I have never mastered the art of gardening on the Texas Coast. My canning jars are dusty and my freezer is not stocked with bags of yumminess these days. Store bought tomatoes just depress me but there is still a way to enjoy tomatoes that aren’t garden fresh. So if it’s not tomato season or you don’t have a garden, here are two ways to take those naked tomatoes and dress them up.

First let’s start with those kooky women from Circle 6 (circa 1968). I first wrote about them in the posting “Jokester among them.” That cookbook is so interesting. I will come back to it from time to time in posts. I am still trying to get up the nerve to make the lemon jello tuna salad and blog about it (Ok, there it was. I just had the gag reflex). Anyway, there are also some amazing recipes. There is a one called “Fancy Sliced Tomatoes.”  I had to try it last week because it was very similar to an old recipe I have made for years originally from a Betty Crocker cookbook that was devoted to grilling. Below are the two recipes. The first one, from Annette Hoeksema of  Circle 6, has less ingredients, and is quite tasty. The dish was cleaned of every drop when I served them last week with the Pantry meatloaf and some garlic potatoes.

The second one is the one I have been making for years and gets devoured at every BBQ or get together. I have yet to bring one bit of tomato home. It has a wonderful combination of fresh herbs and is worth every second of chopping. Let me know what you think. And YES, if you have the pantry set up, these ingredients are lurking in your house.

Fancy Sliced Tomatoes original recipe

Ready to go in the refrigerator for a few hours

RECIPES:

My adaptation of Fancy Sliced Tomatoes

Marinated Tomatoes– My standard when asked to bring a side dish.

About Comfort Cooking On Island Time

There are two things I can't resist; an old recipe handed down and passed around, and the beach. Growing up in the midwest I was introduced to true comfort food but always dreamed of a different landscape, and climate. Recently I acquired a 50 year old beach house. While stumbling after the great cooks of my past, I am focused on a future with cool waves and gently breezes......and watermelon rind pickles of course!
This entry was posted in Diet Options, Hand Me Down Pantry Recipes, Low Carb Living, Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

