Dream Boards and Cookware

A couple of years ago I created a dream board. I took a large piece of poster board, got every magazine in the house, a good pair of scissors and settled in at my dining room table. The idea, I had read, was to let your mind go and cut out pictures, without judging, of things you were attracted to and wanted to bring into your life. So I did just that. The end result was a little unnerving because it told a certain story about me that was very familiar. The story was about seeking serenity,  desiring positive flow, my son’s success, beach dwelling and cooking. Hmmmmmm. Pretty dead on without consciously choosing pictures. You should try it.

After filling a large poster with what I am attracted to, I became very attracted to  looking at the dream board! I still am.  I keep it in my walk in closet and look at it each day. I find it calming, centering, and motivating. I also enjoy seeing what was important to me 2 years ago, what on the board I have brought into my life, and what I have not! That cute little Mercedes, for example…….not!

I put several phrases and words on the board. Like: Be Lucky! Cooled out more and freaked out less! No Diet! Well Rested! Get over your money worries……….you get the picture. I look at those words now and I realize they are not just words, I have brought their “intention” into my life. It is true that you have to name it to claim it. The phrases and words on it remind me of who I want to be, more specifically what I once was, felt I had lost over time, and now reclaimed.

I think there is definitely something to the idea of centering yourself and focusing on what is important. Looking at the dream board reminds me of the energy I want to bring to the world.

“Things” on my dream board had not made an apprearance until recently when I opened a gift of not one, but two, pieces of Le Creuset cookware. Be still my heart!!! They were exactly the same color as the one I had on my dream board.  I have spent most of my life cooking with pans and baking dishes that I do not have a loving relationship with now, nor ever did. Over the past year I had taken to spending time walking the cooking isles at Marshalls and TJ Maxx just so I could run my hands over the Le Creuset and lift the lid exclaiming, “wow that is heavy!”

See my Le Creuset pot on the left side of the dream board?

Look at my new babies.

While I was waiting for these to come into my life, I got these:

The Le Creuset ramekins.

I have delighted in making individual blueberry crisps, french onion soup, and scalloped potatoes. It is just fun to get your own individual portion of something. Isn’t it?

Once the new cookware came into my life (thanks to my husband), I began to acquire other pieces. I now have a casserole dish, pie pan, and a covered casserole to add to my collection. I guess I have talked about it so much that people started buying me pieces so I would move onto another topic. I also think they love to see me squeal with delight whenever I see what is lurking under the wrapping paper.

Everything tastes better when cooked in my Le Creuset. It is juicy, tender, and yummy. I made Friday Fish last night and decided to make extra since my family was licking the Le Creuset casserole dish last time. I made them on a cookie sheet. They weren’t as good. I looked at my husband and whispered, “It’s the Le Creuset.”  It really is superior or my old junky cookware has just given up by sheer intimidation!

If you don’t have a piece, start saving for one. You can get a “second” at TJ Maxx for half the price of a new one at Sur La Table or another fancy store.

Give a dream board a try. You never know what you could attract.

About Comfort Cooking On Island Time

There are two things I can't resist; an old recipe handed down and passed around, and the beach. Growing up in the midwest I was introduced to true comfort food but always dreamed of a different landscape, and climate. Recently I acquired a 50 year old beach house. While stumbling after the great cooks of my past, I am focused on a future with cool waves and gently breezes......and watermelon rind pickles of course!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dream Boards and Cookware

  1. sfwoodruff says:

    I love the idea of a “Dream Board”! It’s similar to Pinterest, BUT it is something that I can walk into my own closet and see on a regular basis without having to stay connected via technology. I dream BIG, so I’m excited to see what my dream board will look like.

  2. I can’t wait to see it. Send me a picture.

  3. Pingback: Dream Walking — Take Baby Steps | Mystic Passage

  4. Pingback: Dream Walking -- Take Baby Steps - Your Unscripted Life

Leave a Reply

