Porcupine Meatballs

 Let’s make comfort food. This will satisfy you on those nights when you are really hungry. That may be every night for some of us! Seriously, you know what I mean. Sometimes you just need some comfort food; meat and potatoes!! Sweet!
When I got married, the first thing I learned how to make was porcupine meatballs. We had them so much I couldn’t make them for years. When I had a toddler, I made them again. I just wanted him to eat something other than macaroni. Now years later, I have a new twist on an old favorite that it is  Weight Watchers “Simply Filling friendly.” The reason I use this term in quotes is because I have had to make some assumptions. For instance in this recipe, I am assuming when Weight Watchers states brown rice as an option, that can mean the quick cooking kind. When it comes to quick cooking, I highly suggest putting out the extra money for Uncle Ben’s. It is far superior, in my opinion, to Minute Rice. In any case with this and other assumptions,  I have come up with a pantry of foods and many recipes, that keep me eating healthier and losing weight.  Enjoy and hand it down!
Porcupine Meatballs
This version uses crushed tomatoes instead of Campbell’s Tomato Soup and fresh herbs.
1 lb lean ground beef
1 C quick cooking brown rice
1 C yellow onion divided in half
1 T fresh thyme
1 T fresh rosemary
Fresh ground pepper and Kosher salt
28 oz can crushed tomatoes
1 T Worcestershire sauce
Mix all the ingredients together, except 1/2 C of the onion and the crushed tomatoes, and form into small to medium size balls. Place touching in a baking dish.
Once the meatballs are out of the mixing bowl, pour in the crushed tomatoes. Leave any leftover rice or onion in the bowl.  Add the other 1/2 C of onion, the 1 T Worcestershire, and some more salt and pepper. Pour over the meatballs. Sprinkle with some more fresh Thyme, 1 T. or so. Cover and cook at 350 for 45 minutes.
Fresh herbs are so tricky. I am never sure what to suggest to others on amount. I always go for more. When cooking healthy, I NEED flavor. I get the best flavor from fresh herbs. So use what you like. If you don’t have fresh, go easy on the dried kind. They can be a bit different in taste and I don’t want you mad at me! I serve this with a romaine and carrot salad and “smashed” red potatoes.
About Comfort Cooking On Island Time

There are two things I can't resist; an old recipe handed down and passed around, and the beach. Growing up in the midwest I was introduced to true comfort food but always dreamed of a different landscape, and climate. Recently I acquired a 50 year old beach house. While stumbling after the great cooks of my past, I am focused on a future with cool waves and gently breezes......and watermelon rind pickles of course!
This entry was posted in Diet Options, Hand Me Down Pantry Recipes, Low Carb Living and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

