Why My Morning Smoothie Rocks

strawberry smoothie

This smoothie is a great way to start your day. It is packed with nutrition and will keep you going all morning. You can get all the metabolism boosting, belly fat busting, rehydrating good stuff, in one yummy drink.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 C unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 C unsweetened coconut water
  • 2-3 T whole leaf aloe vera juice
  • 1-2 T chia seeds
  • 1-2 T ground flax seeds
  • 3-4  frozen strawberries (or any berry you like). Add a little ice if not frozen.

Put all the ingredients in a blender. I just eyeball the ingredients, dump and go. I use a very small blender, like a Bullet, instead of getting out the great big one. It is easy to use and clean quickly.

  • Around 129 calories with 4 g protein, 12.7 g carbs, and 7.4 g fat depending on how you dump

Why this is so great:

  • Almond milk is high in calcium and lower in calories than cow’s milk
  • Coconut water is 10 times more rehydrating than water and contains potassium
  • Aloe vera juice boosts metabolism, helps eliminate bloat, and helps with detoxification
  • Chia seeds are high in fiber, have 50% more calcium than milk, same omega 3 as salmon, and more antioxidants than blueberries!
  • Ground flax seed helps decrease belly fat
  • Strawberries and other berries are low in carbs

You can print the recipe here.

About Comfort Cooking On Island Time

There are two things I can't resist; an old recipe handed down and passed around, and the beach. Growing up in the midwest I was introduced to true comfort food but always dreamed of a different landscape, and climate. Recently I acquired a 50 year old beach house. While stumbling after the great cooks of my past, I am focused on a future with cool waves and gently breezes......and watermelon rind pickles of course!
Image | This entry was posted in Beach Stuff, Diet Options, Good Sense, Low Carb Living, Low Carb Pantry Recipies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why My Morning Smoothie Rocks

  1. Hmm it appears like your blog ate my first comment (it
    was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.

    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for first-time blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  2. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found
    that it is really informative. I am gonna watch
    out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.

    Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  3. Wow, marvelous blog format! How long have you been blogging
    for? you make running a blog look easy. The whole look of your web site is wonderful, let alone the
    content!

Leave a Reply

