It’s What’s On The Inside

I love pizza and hot sandwiches. If you are like me, you can still get your “fix” and stay low carb by stacking the ingredients that are inside a sandwich or on top of a pizza. I don’t miss the bread or crust at all and get all those great flavors that I crave.

IMG_0684

 

This is my favorite smoked turkey and avocado panini. I just stack the turkey, provolone cheese, and avocado as high as I want, top with bacon and more cheese, then broil. I get all the yumminess with out the carbs.

IMG_0631

 

This is a “pizza stacker” that I made on foil and broiled until bubby. I stacked uncured pepperoni, cheese, oregano, pizza sauce, and canadian bacon them repeated ending with cheese.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0665I even have the cooks at my work cafeteria broil the insides of sandwiches or pizza toppings on the day they are serving them. Try it! You don’t have to give up your favorite flavors to go low carb.

 

About Comfort Cooking On Island Time

There are two things I can't resist; an old recipe handed down and passed around, and the beach. Growing up in the midwest I was introduced to true comfort food but always dreamed of a different landscape, and climate. Recently I acquired a 50 year old beach house. While stumbling after the great cooks of my past, I am focused on a future with cool waves and gently breezes......and watermelon rind pickles of course!
This entry was posted in Diet Options, Good Sense, Low Carb Living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

