Make Your Own Pesto

IMG_0763

A friend of mine gave me this pesto recipe about 25 years ago. Most pesto recipes have the basic common ingredients; basil, pine nuts, olive oil, garlic, and parmesan…… but I have found that the amount of each makes all the different in the final product. I grow basil in my yard all summer.  I wait until they get a lot of new growth and keep snipping off the flower to keep it growing. When it is full and has a bunch of new growth I begin the process of cutting it off and making pesto. I go through the process all summer; grow, snip flowers, cut, make pesto. I save jars and use them for the final product. I stick the jars in the freezer and pull one out throughout the year.

Best Ever Pesto (at my house we call it “liquid gold”)

  • 2 cups basil leaves
  • 1 cup olive oil
  • 2 T pine nuts
  • 2 tsp fresh garlic
  • 1/2 C  shredded parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper

Put it all in a food processor and process until desired consistency. I usually pour the oil in as it is processing and stop when I see it get the way I like it. You need to experiment. Growing basil and making your own pesto is well worth the little work it takes. Every Italian dish you make will become awesome! Wondering what to do with that chicken breast on Wednesday night???? Done! Enjoy and hand it down!

About Comfort Cooking On Island Time

There are two things I can't resist; an old recipe handed down and passed around, and the beach. Growing up in the midwest I was introduced to true comfort food but always dreamed of a different landscape, and climate. Recently I acquired a 50 year old beach house. While stumbling after the great cooks of my past, I am focused on a future with cool waves and gently breezes......and watermelon rind pickles of course!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

